Cycladic figurines, 3000-2000 b.c.e.

I love these carved statues.

They can be found in many large and small museums. I took a lot of pictures of the figurines at the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford eighteen months ago.

They are ancient, mostly coming from a group of islands in and near Greece, and are all female. Carved stone. Some are large, some are only heads, some are pregnant.

For me, they have a charm that I cannot explain. The simplicity, the minimalism, the beauty.

Sigh. When I look at them, I feel a great sense of peace.

Leave a Reply

